Faculty Award Information and Recipients


Internal recognition builds a community
External recognition enhances a reputation

The University of Alberta is committed to the sharing of our accomplishments with the broader community. Success by our faculty and staff in receiving recognition in teaching, learning, scholarship, and community service, is critical to realizing the university's vision and to maintain and enhance the university's reputation. This website has been created to assist University of Alberta faculty with their pursuit of awards based upon excellence in teaching, research, and/or citizenship.

Use the search tool on the left-hand side of the page to navigate to a particular award. For discipline specific awards, select the appropriate field of study (more than one could apply), click search, and determine which award(s) are applicable to you.

A list of award recipients is available by clicking the "Show award recipients..." link at the bottom of each award page.

Please contact our office to provide feedback on this website or to advise us if you have received an academic award that is not listed on the website. Our contact information is as follows:

Office of the Registrar
1-27 South Academic Building
Edmonton, AB T6G 2G7
Phone: 780.492.2644
Email: laura.connell@ualberta.ca


Effective April 2014, the Centre for Teaching and Learning (CTL) assumed responsibility for overseeing the nomination process for the following:

Awards for Faculty Excellence

  • Distinguished University Professor
  • Henry Marshall Tory Chair
  • University Cup
  • Vargo Teaching Chair

Awards for Teaching Excellence

  • Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching
  • Provost’s Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
  • Teaching Unit Award
  • William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

External Teaching Awards

  • 3M National Teaching Fellowship (STLHE)
  • Alan Blizzard Award (STLHE)
  • Desire2Learn Innovation Award in Teaching & Learning (STLHE)

For more information or assistance with developing your nomination package contact:

Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
2-40 South Academic Building (SAB)
Email: paliteam@ualberta.ca