Office of the Registrar and Student Awards


The Professors


Teaching and Scholarship

31 The Professors

31.1 Teaching and Scholarship

    Our professors are renowned across campus for their willingness and enthusiasm to provide excellent guidance and teaching to our students. Staff members help students choose options and advise them on career opportunities. Students are encouraged to explore their chosen fields and develop practical skills.

    Faculty are involved in the full chain of scholarly activity, from generation (research) and integration to dissemination (teaching and extension). Our teaching and research activities have gained international recognition and various awards. Combined with our patented discoveries, they are a testament to our continued commitment to excellence. Awards received over the past five years include:


N Willows

Academic Woman’s Association Women of the Year Award

L McCargar (2006)

Agriculture Institute of Canada Fellow Award

J Kennelly (2011)

Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame Induction

I Morrison (2010)

F Robinson (2006)

Alberta Ingenuity New Faculty Award

N Erbilgin (2009)

U Hacke (2008)

ASTech Award for Excellence in Science and Technology Public Awareness

J Acorn (2010)

ASTech Award for Innovation in Agricultural Sciences

D Bressler (2011)

L Dosdall (2010)

L McMullen (2009)

M Stiles (2009)

Boreal Leadership Individual Trailblazers Award

Fiona Schmiegelow

Canada Research Chairs

N Erbilgin

M Gaenzle

U Hacke

F He

B Parlee (Joint appointment with Native Studies)

R Weselake

Dieticians of Canada Fellow

L McCargar (2006)

Fellow of the Agricultural Institute of Canada

JJ Kennelly (2011)

Fellow of the Poultry Science Association

FE Robinson (2007)

Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

M Tyree (2008)

WL Adamowicz (2007)

International Union of Forest Research Organizations Scientific Achievement Award

J Zwiazek (2010)

Killam Annual Professorship

L McCargar (2009)

M Luckert (2008)

E Macdonald (2007)

N Keating (2007)

CJ Field (2006)

McCalla Research Professorship

D Davidson (2011)

D Spaner (2009)

J Zwiazek (2009)

C Field (2008)

N Krogman (2007)

LM McMullen (2006)

NACTA Distinguished Educator Award

F Robinson (2010)

NACTA Teaching Award of Merit

D Barreda (2011)

S Mohapatra (2010)

B Steiner (2009)

D Davidson (2008)

NACTA Teaching Fellow Award

L McMullen (2010)

C Wilkinson (2010)

NSERC Industrial Research Chair

S Landhausser

VJ Lieffers

NSERC Michael Smith Award for Science Promotion

John Acorn (2008)

Premier’s Alberta Food for Health Award

F Temelli (2010)

T Vasanthan (2010)

Provost's Award for Early Achievement of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

D Barreda (2011)

3M Teaching Fellowship

FE Robinson (2007)

University Professor

WL Adamowicz (2008)

University Professor and Fellowship in the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

T Clandinin (2006)

University of Alberta President’s Achievement Award

There’s a Heifer in Your Tank (2009)

Vargo Teaching Chair

MA Naeth (2010, 2005)

William Hardy Alexander Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

K Chandler (2007)

Search the Calendar:

Table of Contents

Calendar Home Page
Notices, Errata, Addendum, 2013-2014 PDF Calendar, 2012-2013 Calendar, Previous Calendars, University Policy Gateway

Welcome from the President


Academic Schedule
 11Major Deadlines from the 2013-2014 Academic Schedule
 11.1Academic Schedule 2013-2014 (monthly listing of academic events on campus)

Undergraduate Application Deadlines for Admission and Readmission

Undergraduate Admission
 13 Admission to Undergraduate Programs
 14General Admission Requirements
 15Admission Requirements by Faculty
 16Admission for International Baccalaureate and Advanced Placement Students
 17Admission from Outside Alberta

University Regulations and Information for Students
 20General University Policies
 21Classification of Students
 22Registration and Fees
 23Academic Regulations
 24Student Services
 25Code of Student Behaviour
 26Code of Applicant Behaviour

30Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences
40Faculty of Arts
50Augustana Faculty
60Faculty of Business
70Faculty of Education
80Faculty of Engineering
90Faculty of Extension
100Faculty of Law
110Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
120Faculty of Native Studies
130Faculty of Nursing
140Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
150Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation
160School of Public Health
170Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
180Faculté Saint-Jean
191Faculty of Science

Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research
 200The Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research
 201Members of the Faculty
 202General Information
 203Regulations of the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research
 204Graduate Program Regulations
 205Graduate Programs
 210Graduate Financial Aid

Open Studies

Course Listings
 230Details of Courses
 231Course Listings


General Information
 241University History and Traditions
 242Constitution of the University
 243University Libraries
 244Alumni Association
 245Affiliated Colleges

University Staff
 250Continuing Academic Staff
 252Associate and Adjunct Staff
 253Honorary Degree Recipients